amend blag post about optimizing PDFs (added convert -page A4)
authorRoland Hieber <rohieb@rohieb.name>
Thu, 20 Feb 2014 10:01:42 +0000 (11:01 +0100)
committerRoland Hieber <rohieb@rohieb.name>
Thu, 20 Feb 2014 10:03:01 +0000 (11:03 +0100)
blag/post/optimizing-xsane-s-scanned-pdfs.mdwn

index e48c024..7a0cd60 100644 (file)
@@ -334,6 +334,13 @@ in X and Y direction, which was the resolution at which the images were scanned:
 
     $ convert image*jpg -density 200x200 document.pdf
 
+*Update:* You can also use the [`-page` parameter][page] to set the page size
+directly. It takes a multitude of predefined paper formats (see link) and will
+do the pixel density calculation for you, as well as adding any neccessary
+offset if the image ratio is not quite exact:
+
+    $ convert image*jpg -page A4 document.pdf
+
 With that approach, I could reduce the size of my PDF from 250&nbsp;MB with
 losslessly compressed images to 38&nbsp;MB with DCT compression.
 
@@ -368,5 +375,6 @@ document.
 [scan-to-pdfa]: http://blog.konradvoelkel.de/2013/03/scan-to-pdfa/ "Konrad Voelkel: Linux, OCR and PDF: Scan to PDF/A"
 [pdf-stream-objects]: http://blog.didierstevens.com/2008/05/19/pdf-stream-objects/ "Didier Stevens: PDF Stream Objects"
 [pdf-tools]: http://blog.didierstevens.com/programs/pdf-tools/ "Didier Stevens: PDF Tools"
+[page]: http://www.imagemagick.org/script/command-line-options.php#page "ImageMagick: Command-line Options"
 
 [[!tag PDF note_to_self howto ImageMagic convert file_formats reference longpost]]
This page took 0.052245 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.